Middle Grade New Releases, Week of July 10, 2018

Happy release week to these middle grade books making their rounds through our reviewers!


Thank you to @kidlitexchange for providing the review copies of these books. All opinions are our own.


Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe by Jo Hacklsmack dab
(July 10th 2018 ~ Random House Books for Young Readers)

Good Reads Summary:

A Mississippi ghost town and an art mystery combine in this gorgeously written debut just right for fans of Three Times Lucky and A Snicker of Magic!

How far would you go to find something that might not even exist?

All her life, Cricket’s mama has told her stories about a secret room painted by a mysterious artist. Now Mama’s run off, and Cricket thinks the room might be the answer to getting her to come back. If it exists. And if she can find it.

Cricket’s only clue is a coin from a grown-over ghost town in the woods. So with her daddy’s old guidebook and a coat full of snacks stolen from the Cash ‘n’ Carry, Cricket runs away to find the room. Surviving in the woods isn’t easy. While Cricket camps out in an old tree house and looks for clues, she meets the last resident of the ghost town, encounters a poetry-loving dog (who just might hold a key to part of the puzzle), and discovers that sometimes you have to get a little lost . . . to really find your way.

“A tale of adventure, full of mystery.” –Robert Beatty, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Serafina and the Black Cloak

Look for a review soon on #kidlitexchange!


A Hint of Hydra by Heidi Lang and Katie Bartkowski (Lailu Loganberry #2)img_6281
(July 10th 2018 ~ Aladdin)

Photo and Review by Mrs. T. originally on Instagram @fuzzballteacher

A Hint of Hydra by Heidi Lang & Kati Barkowski is an unique, fun filled fantasy adventure! In the story, a talented cook called Lailu, who also hunts magical beasts for recipes, is faced with challenges as the scientists, led by Starling, create new automatons and inventions, and the elves living in the city threaten war. When a scientist ends up dead, the truth of what may be going on begins to come out. Lailu is forced to figure out the mystery and confront her own fears of losing her closest friends in this exciting tale.
As a lover of fantasy, I really enjoyed the twist on magical aspects of the elves and the magical creatures. The world is exciting and unique in the way that it is built. I enjoyed the story being told from a cook’s perspective rather than an up and coming ‘hero’ as many fantasy stories tend to be told in. This book has fun characters and takes the reader on a journey of solving a mystery. Try it out if you would a new twist on a fantasy world!


12

Don’t forget to follow us on Instagram and Twitter @kidlitexchange!

You can also follow our tags on Instagram and Twitter to see all of our reviews:

#kidlitexchange on Instagram

#kidlitexchange on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: