The Jigsaw Jungle by Kristin Levine

JigsawJungle_BlogBanner.jpg

Thanks to the publisher for providing us with a free review copy of this book!

The Jigsaw Jungle by Kristin Levine
(GP Putnam Sons BFYR ~ June 19, 2018)

Review by Laura Gardner ~ @librarianmsg on Instagram

Cover (1)

ALL THE STARS for this middle grade title, releasing on  June 19. Preorder your copy now!

Claudia’s father has disappeared without a trace. When clues start appearing in the form of puzzle pieces, Claudia assembles a scrapbook to document the treasure hunt she hopes will uncover her father. With the help of her grandfather and a new friend, Claudia must investigate her father’s past, present and future to discover his secrets. Claudia thought she had a happy family, but now she’s beginning to doubt everything he thought she knew.

I’ll admit it. I’m a BIG fan of all of Kristin Levine’s books (especially Lions of Little Rock!) so I was pretty happy to pick up her newest book, which is NOT historical fiction. Nope! This book is a solid mystery comprised of phone, text and video transcripts, emails, postcards and other documents. You might think that’s a stilted way to tell a story, but under Levine’s masterful writing it flows beautifully. I couldn’t put it down and I absolutely loved all the twists, especially the ultimate twist at the end.The mystery is cleverly created and very complex. I predict this will be a huge hit with students and the kind of book we gush about together in the library when they return their copy.

This belongs in ALL elementary and middle school libraries. Put it on your pre-order list now and be sure to order more than one copy; it’s going to fly off the shelves!

BOOK DESCRIPTION FROM PUBLISHER

A mysterious treasure hunt helps to heal a broken family in critically acclaimed author Kristin Levine’s first contemporary tale–perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Jennifer L. Holm

Claudia Dalton’s father has disappeared. What began as a late night at work has spiraled into a missing persons case–one that’s left twelve-year-old Claudia questioning everything she’s ever known about her father and their family.

But when she finally gets word from her dad, it turns out he isn’t missing at all. He’s just gone to “think things over” and visit an old friend, whatever that means. Feeling confused and helpless, Claudia starts to assemble a scrapbook, gathering emails, receipts, phone transcripts and more, all in a desperate attempt to figure out what’s happening with her dad. Claudia’s investigation deepens at her grandfather’s house, where she receives an envelope containing a puzzle piece and a cryptic message.

It’s this curious first clue that sets Claudia on an unexpected treasure hunt that she hopes will bring her dad home and heal whatever’s gone wrong with her family. Told through the pages of Claudia’s scrapbook, The Jigsaw Jungle is a moving story of a family lost and then found, with a dash of mystery and loads of heart, from award-winning author and middle-grade master Kristin Levine.

AUTHOR BIO

Kristin Levine, author of the critically acclaimed The Best Bad Luck I Ever HadThe Lions of Little Rock, and The Paper Cowboy received her BA in German from Swarthmore College and an MFA in film from American University. She spent a year in Vienna, Austria, working as an au pair and has taught screenwriting at American University. Currently, she lives in Alexandria, VA with her two daughters. The Jigsaw Jungle is her fourth novel.


12

Don’t forget to follow us on Instagram and Twitter @kidlitexchange

You can also follow our tags on Instagram and Twitter to see all of our reviews:

#kidlitexchange on Instagram

#kidlitexchange on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: